Western Union Mobile App Terms of Use

For Online Terms and Conditions, click here.

These Terms of Use apply to your use of the Western Union Mobile App (the “App”). By using the App, you are deemed to have read and agreed to be bound by these Terms of Use.  This App is provided by Western Union Financial Services (Canada) Inc., located at 330 Bay Street, Suite 300Toronto, ON – M5H 2S8 (“WUC”or Western Union) and references to “we”, “us”, “our” are references to Western Union.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU READ AND UNDERSTAND THESE TERMS OF USE. BY DOWNLOADING THE APP YOU INDICATE THAT YOU ACCEPT THESE TERMS OF USE. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO THESE TERMS AND CONDITIONS THEN DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE APP. WESTERN UNION RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THESE APP TERMS OF USE WITHOUT NOTICE. WE MAY MAKE CHANGES TO THESE TERMS OF USE AND IF WE DO SO, WE WILL POST AN UPDATED VERSION ON THE APP.  WE RECOMMEND THAT YOU CHECK THE APP TO REVIEW THE CURRENT VERSION OF THESE TERMS OF USE FROM TIME TO TIME. YOUR CONTINUED USE OF THE APP SHALL BE DEEMED TO CONSTITUTE YOUR CONCLUSIVE ACCEPTANCE OF THE MODIFIED TERMS OF USE.

  1. App Purpose and Services

The App is made available to you for the purpose of providing you with information about the services we offer (the “Services”). Any Service made available to you on or through the App may be subject to your acceptance of the terms and conditions specific to such Service (the “Service Terms”), which will be made known to you prior to your use of any such Service. In the event of any inconsistency between these Terms of Use and any applicable Service Terms, the Service Terms shall prevail, but only to the extent of such inconsistency.  This App is currently only intended and available for use by customers in Canada. Depending on the features available on the App in Canada you may not be able to use the App or certain Services until you have registered or logged into the App. We can refuse to allow you to use and/or restrict your use of the App at any time.

  1. Minors

The App is not intended to be used by, and is not marketed or directed towards, any person under the age of majority in his or her province of residence.

  1. Accounts and Passwords

To use certain Services offered through the App, you will need to create a profile. As part of the process to create, register and maintain your profile, you must provide us with certain current, complete, and accurate information or other data that we may request during the registration process.

You agree to: (a) maintain the confidentiality of any passwords or other profile identifiers which you choose or that are assigned to you as a result of any registration or profile creation with the App; and (b) be responsible for all activities that occur under such password or profile. Further, you agree to immediately notify us of any unauthorized use of your password or profile in the event that the confidentiality of your password or your profile is compromised. Failure to comply with this paragraph may result in immediate termination of your profile. We shall not be responsible or liable, directly or indirectly, in any way for any loss or damage of any kind incurred as a result of, or in connection with, your failure to comply with this section.

  1. Privacy

Our Privacy Statement describes how we collect, use and disclose personal information. Certain functionality of the App may need to access your Device and information stored on it so that it works properly. By using the App you consent to this.

  1. License

Western Union grants you a limited, non-exclusive, personal, non-transferable, non-sub-licensable and revocable right and license to access, view, use and print the information and documentation made available on the App, for your personal, non-commercial and informational use only.  Except for the limited licenses and rights expressly granted to you herein, these Terms of Use do not grant you any other right or license in or under any patent, trademark, copyright, or other intellectual property or proprietary right of Western Union. We may terminate this license at any time for any reason.

  1. Content

The App may include images, text, works and other content and data that are owned by third parties (“Third Party Content”).  You agree that all of the terms and conditions of these Terms of Use apply to your access to and use of any Third Party Content and you further agree to comply with any terms and conditions that are specific to the Third Party Content. We are not responsible, and assume no liability, for any Third Party Content.

All content and data made available through the App, is owned solely and exclusively by us and/or third parties. You may not: (a) publish, publicly perform or display, or communicate to the public or otherwise distribute to any third party any of its content; (b) market, sell, re-sell or make commercial use of the App or any of its content; (c) systematically collect from or make derivative uses of the App or of its content.

If you make any information, data or content available to us on or through the App, including by contacting us, or by providing comments or ideas about our Services or the App, you are deemed to grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, irrevocable, royalty-free, perpetual, worldwide license to store, use, copy reproduce, modify, adapt, edit, translate, publish, perform and display any such content, without any payment or restriction. You are solely responsible and liable for any content you make available on or through the App or that is made available using your App account.

  1. Intellectual Property

The WESTERN UNION name and logo, and all names logos related to the App or Services are either trademarks or registered trademarks of the company (or its affiliates, suppliers, partner businesses or licensors, as applicable). You acknowledge that the App, the Services and any underlying technology used in connection with the Services contain intellectual property and proprietary information. You may not use, reproduce, distribute, modify or create derivative works of, publicly display (including by framing any content), or commercially exploit any part of the App or Services, or aforementioned registered or unregistered trademarks, intellectual property or proprietary information except as necessary to view the content therein and to create a reasonable number of copies of portions of such content (without modification) for your personal, non-commercial use. In addition, all page headers, custom graphics, button icons, and scripts are service marks and/or trademarks of Western Union. You may not use, reproduce, distribute, modify or create derivative works of them without our prior written consent.

All right, title and interest in and to the App, any content thereon, the Services, the technology used in connection with the Services, and any and all technology and any content created or derived from any of the foregoing is the exclusive property of Western Union (or its affiliates, suppliers, partner businesses or licensors, as applicable).

  1. Use Restrictions

You agree that when using the App you will not: (a) permit any other person to use your profile for their benefit; (b) interfere with or circumvent any copyright or other technical protection mechanism or reverse engineer, decompile, disassemble, or otherwise in any manner deconstruct all or any part of the App or any software or technology or content forming part thereof; (c) take any action or use any program or device that may result in or is intended to interfere with the operation and functioning of the App or to shut down, overload or overwhelm the Website; (d) copy, republish or redistribute any part of the App, including by caching, framing or similar means; or (e) send it to anyone else or copy or modify any part of it in any way; (f) attempt to extract any source code from the App, disassemble it or make any derivative versions, or attempt to interrupt or decipher the transmissions between the App and our systems.

In addition, you must not use the App for any of the following purposes:

(i) anything unlawful or illegal or which is fraudulent or malicious or which promotes any criminal activity or provides information about the same;

(ii) anything which is defamatory, harassing or threatening or which otherwise infringes or violates the rights of others. This includes any information that you may add or upload to the App;

(iii) interfering in any way with any other user of the App; and/or

(iv) knowingly introducing viruses or other malicious or harmful material or using it in connection with unsolicited communications.

If the version of the App you are using facilitates performing money transfer transactions, please note that security is of paramount importance. You must keep your Device secure and properly close the App after each use. You must ensure that any security details, money transfer and profile information and all other information that you provide to us via the App or otherwise is complete, accurate and up to date.

  1. Charges and Minimum system requirements

You may be charged by your service provider for downloading and/or accessing the App on your mobile phone, tablet or other handheld device (the “Device”). These charges may include data roaming charges if you do this outside your home territory. All these charges are solely your responsibility. If you do not pay the bills for your Device then we assume that you have the permission from the person that does before incurring any of these charges. We will not charge a separate fee for accessing the App, but you may be charged fees for using the Services that may be offered through the App. WUC will prominently disclose  any fees charged by WUC.  prior to you being charged. The App will only work on compatible Devices and operating systems and certain functionality will only work if your Device is connected to the internet. Some features may also only be available with certain operating systems.

  1. Use of Cookies

You agree that we have the right to monitor and review your use of the App and Services from time to time, and to use “cookies”, “log files” and your “browsing data” in accordance with the Privacy Statement.

  1. Support

We may in our sole discretion provide you with troubleshooting support concerning your use of the App and any Services, but we are under no obligation to do so.

  1. The App and Services are provided “as is” and “as available”

You understand and agree that the App and its content and the Services are provided on an “as is” and “as available” basis and, except to the extent expressly provided for under applicable law, the we expressly disclaim all representations or warranties or conditions of any kind or nature whatsoever, whether express or implied, and whether arising by statute or otherwise in law, from a course of dealing or usage of trade, including without limitation, any implied warranties or conditions, any condition or warranty of merchantability, title or non-infringement of third parties rights and any condition or warranty of fitness for a particular purpose.

  1. Links

We may provide links on the App to other web-based resources, including those operated by parties other than us. These links are provided for your convenience and we not responsible for the availability of such websites or resources.  We do not endorse or accept responsibility for the content of such external websites or resources. Your access and viewing of any third party websites or resources is conducted at your own risk.

  1. Limitation of Liability

Except to the extent prohibited by applicable law, WUC and its affiliates, and each of their respective directors, officers, employees, consultants and agents will not be liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, special or consequential damages or any loss that results from the use of, or the inability to use, the App or the Services, or for any loss or transmission of any confidential or sensitive data or information.

  1. Indemnity

You agree to defend, indemnify, and hold harmless WUC and its affiliates from and against any claims, actions, demands, losses, liabilities, damages, costs and expenses suffered from your breach of these Terms of Use.

  1. Jurisdiction

Any disputes arising hereunder shall be governed exclusively by the laws of the province of Ontario and the laws of Canada applicable therein, without giving effect to their conflict of laws principles; provided, however, if your domicile or residence is in Quebec at the time of any transaction perform through the App, the laws of Quebec shall govern.

Conditions d’utilisation de l’appli mobile Western Union

Les présentes conditions d’utilisation s’appliquent à votre utilisation de l’appli mobile Western Union (l’« Appli »). En utilisant l’Appli, vous reconnaissez par le fait même avoir lu les présentes conditions d’utilisation et avoir accepté d’y être lié. Cette Appli est fournie par les Services financiers Western Union (Canada), Inc., dont les bureaux sont situés au 330, rue Bay, bureau 300, Toronto (Ontario)  M5H 2S8 (« WUC » ou « Western Union »); les expressions « nous », « notre » ou « nos » renvoient directement à Western Union.

IL EST IMPORTANT QUE VOUS LISIEZ ET COMPRENIEZ LES PRÉSENTES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION. EN TÉLÉCHARGEANT L’APPLI, VOUS CONVENEZ QUE VOUS ACCEPTEZ CES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION. SI VOUS ÊTES EN DÉSACCORD AVEC CES MODALITÉS, VEUILLEZ NE PAS TÉLÉCHARGER L’APPLI. WESTERN UNION SE RÉSERVE LE DROIT DE MODIFIER LES PRÉSENTES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION DE L’APPLI SANS PRÉAVIS. SI NOUS APPORTONS DES MODIFICATIONS AUX PRÉSENTES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION, NOUS PUBLIERONS UNE VERSION À JOUR DE CELLES-CI DANS L’APPLI. NOUS VOUS RECOMMANDONS DE VÉRIFIER L’APPLI DE TEMPS À AUTRE POUR PRENDRE CONNAISSANCE DE LA PLUS RÉCENTE VERSION DES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION. EN CONTINUANT D’UTILISER L’APPLI, VOUS ACCEPTEZ PAR LE FAIT MÊME DÉFINITIVEMENT LES CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION MODIFIÉES.

  1. Objectif et services de l’Appli

Nous vous offrons l’Appli dans le but de vous fournir des renseignements sur nos services (les « Services »). Tous les Services qui vous sont proposés sur l’Appli ou par son entremise peuvent être assujettis à votre acceptation des modalités spécifiques à ces Services (les « Modalités de service »), lesquelles vous seront communiquées avant votre utilisation desdits Services. En cas d’incompatibilité entre les présentes Conditions d’utilisation et les Modalités de service applicables, les Modalités de service prévaudront, mais uniquement dans les limites de ladite incompatibilité. Cette Appli est actuellement destinée et offerte aux consommateurs situés au Canada uniquement. Selon les fonctionnalités offertes sur l’Appli au Canada, vous pourriez ne pas être en mesure d’utiliser l’Appli ou certains Services tant que vous n’êtes pas inscrit ou connecté à l’Appli. Nous pouvons refuser de vous permettre d’utiliser l’Appli ou restreindre votre utilisation à tout moment.

  1. Mineurs

L’Appli n’est pas conçue pour être utilisée par les personnes n’ayant pas atteint l’âge de la majorité dans leur province de résidence et n’est pas commercialisée à leur intention.

  1. Comptes et mots de passe

Pour utiliser certains Services offerts par l’entremise de l’Appli, vous devrez créer un profil. Dans le cadre du processus de création, d’enregistrement et de mise à jour de votre profil, vous devez nous fournir certains renseignements complets, précis et à jour ou d’autres données que nous pourrons vous demander durant le processus d’inscription.

Vous acceptez de : (a) maintenir la confidentialité de tous les mots de passe ou autres identifiants de profil que vous choisissez ou qui vous sont attribués dans le cadre de toute inscription ou création de profil dans l’Appli et (b) d’être tenu responsable de toutes les activités résultant de l’utilisation de votre profil ou de votre mot de passe. De plus, vous acceptez de nous informer immédiatement de toute utilisation non autorisée de votre mot de passe ou de votre profil dans l’éventualité où ces données sont compromises. Le non-respect des dispositions de ce paragraphe peut entraîner la suppression immédiate de votre profil. Nous ne pouvons être tenus responsables, directement ou indirectement, de quelque manière que ce soit, de pertes ou dommages de toute nature subis soit en raison de votre manquement aux principes énoncés dans ce paragraphe, soit relativement à ce manquement.

  1. Confidentialité

Notre Politique de confidentialité décrit comment nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons des renseignements personnels. Certaines fonctionnalités de l’Appli pourraient nécessiter d’accéder à votre appareil et aux données qui y sont stockées pour fonctionner adéquatement. En vous servant de l’Appli, vous consentez à cette condition.

  1. Licence

Western Union vous accorde une licence personnelle limitée, non exclusive, non transférable, révocable et ne pouvant donner lieu à une sous-licence pour accéder, consulter, utiliser et imprimer l’information et la documentation disponibles sur l’Appli, pour votre usage personnel, non commercial et à titre informatif seulement. À l’exception de la licence et des droits limités qui vous sont expressément octroyés dans le présent document, les présentes Conditions d’utilisation ne vous concèdent aucune autre licence ni aucun autre droit en vertu de tout brevet, marque de commerce, droit d’auteur ou autre droit de propriété intellectuelle ou droit de propriété de Western Union. Nous pouvons mettre fin à la présente licence à tout moment et pour quelque raison que ce soit.

  1. Contenu

L’Appli peut comprendre des images, du texte, des œuvres et d’autres contenus et données qui sont la propriété de tiers (le « Contenu de tiers »). Vous acceptez que toutes les modalités des présentes Conditions d’utilisation s’appliquent à votre accès et à votre utilisation de tout Contenu de tiers, et vous acceptez également de vous conformer à toute modalité spécifique au Contenu de tiers. Nous n’assumons aucune responsabilité et ne pouvons être tenus responsables à l’égard de tout Contenu de tiers.

Tout contenu et toute donnée rendus disponibles par l’entremise de l’Appli demeurent la propriété unique et exclusive de Western Union ou de tiers. Vous ne pouvez pas : (a) publier, présenter ou afficher en public, communiquer publiquement ou distribuer autrement à une tierce partie tout contenu de l’Appli; (b) commercialiser, vendre, revendre ou utiliser à des fins commerciales l’Appli ou son contenu; (c) recueillir de manière systématique les données de l’Appli ou faire une utilisation dérivée de l’Appli ou de son contenu.

Si vous nous transmettez quelque renseignement, donnée ou contenu par l’entremise de l’Appli, y compris en communiquant avec nous ou en nous faisant part de vos commentaires et idées à propos de nos Services ou de l’Appli, vous consentez par le fait même à nous accorder une licence mondiale, perpétuelle, libre de redevances, irrévocable, non exclusive, transférable et pouvant être concédée par une sous-licence pour stocker, utiliser, copier, reproduire, modifier, adapter, éditer, traduire, publier, exécuter publiquement et afficher les contenus en question, sans aucune restriction ni aucun paiement. Vous êtes entièrement responsable de tout contenu que vous rendez disponible sur l’Appli ou par son entremise, ou qui est rendu disponible au moyen du compte de l’Appli qui vous appartient.

  1. Propriété intellectuelle

Le nom et le logo WESTERN UNION, de même que tous les noms et logos liés à l’Appli ou aux Services, sont des marques ou des marques déposées de l’entreprise (ou de ses sociétés affiliées, fournisseurs, entreprises partenaires ou concédants de licence, selon le cas). Vous reconnaissez que l’Appli, les Services et toute technologie sous-jacente utilisée par les Services contiennent des informations confidentielles et des éléments de propriété intellectuelle. Vous ne pouvez pas utiliser, reproduire, distribuer, modifier ou créer des œuvres dérivées, afficher publiquement (y compris en encadrant tout contenu) ou exploiter commercialement tout élément de l’Appli ou des Services, ou les marques déposées ou non déposées mentionnées précédemment, les éléments de propriété intellectuelle ou les informations confidentielles, sauf si cela est nécessaire pour voir les contenus et pour créer un nombre raisonnable de copies de portions de tels contenus (sans modification) pour votre usage personnel et non commercial. De plus, tous les en-têtes, éléments graphiques créés sur mesure, icônes et scripts sont des marques de service ou des marques de commerce de Western Union. Vous ne pouvez pas les utiliser, les reproduire, les distribuer, les modifier ou créer des œuvres dérivées à partir de ceux-ci sans notre consentement écrit préalable.

Tous les droits, titres et intérêts liés à l’Appli, à tout contenu qui s’y trouve, aux Services, aux technologies utilisées par les Services, ainsi qu’à toute technologie et tout contenu dérivés ou créés à partir de tout ce qui précède sont la propriété exclusive de Western Union (ou de ses sociétés affiliées, fournisseurs, entreprises partenaires ou concédants de licence, selon le cas).

  1. Restrictions d’utilisation

Vous consentez, lorsque vous utilisez l’Appli, à ne pas : (a) permettre à quiconque d’utiliser votre profil à son avantage; (b) entraver ou contourner tout droit d’auteur ou autre mesure technique de protection, ou procéder à une rétro-ingénierie, décompiler, désassembler ou déconstruire de quelque façon que ce soit toute l’Appli ou une partie de celle-ci, ou tout logiciel, technologie ou contenu qui en fait partie; (c) entreprendre toute action ou utiliser tout programme ou appareil susceptible de nuire à l’exploitation et au fonctionnement de l’Appli, de surcharger le site web ou d’en interrompre l’accessibilité; (d) copier, republier ou redistribuer toute partie de l’Appli, y compris par mise en antémémoire, cadrage ou par tout autre moyen similaire; ou (e) l’envoyer à quiconque, copier ou modifier toute partie de quelque manière que ce soit; (f) tenter d’extraire le code source de l’Appli, de le désassembler ou d’en créer des versions dérivées, ou essayer d’interrompre ou de déchiffrer la transmission de données entre l’Appli et nos systèmes.

De plus, vous ne devez pas utiliser l’Appli pour l’une ou l’autre des fins suivantes :

(i) toute activité illégale, illicite, à caractère frauduleux ou malveillant ou visant à faciliter une activité criminelle ou à fournir de l’information de même nature;

(ii) toute activité diffamatoire, harcelante, menaçante ou qui autrement enfreint ou viole les droits d’autrui. Cela inclut toute information que vous pourriez ajouter ou téléverser sur l’Appli;

(iii) porter atteinte de quelque façon à tout autre utilisateur de l’Appli;

(iv) introduire volontairement des virus ou tout autre matériel malveillant ou dommageable, ou les utiliser dans le cadre de communications non sollicitées.

Si la version de l’Appli que vous utilisez permet d’effectuer des transferts d’argent, veuillez noter que dans ce cas la sécurité est d’une importance cruciale. Vous devez veiller à la sécurité de votre Appareil et désactiver l’Appli comme il se doit après chaque utilisation. Vous devez vous assurer que toutes les données liées à la sécurité, aux transferts d’argent, à votre profil ainsi que toute autre information que vous nous communiquez au moyen de l’Appli ou autrement sont complètes, exactes et à jour.

  1. Frais et exigences système minimales

Votre fournisseur de services pourrait exiger des frais pour télécharger ou accéder à l’Appli sur votre téléphone mobile, votre tablette ou autre appareil portable (l’« Appareil »). Ces frais peuvent inclure la transmission de données en itinérance si vous utilisez votre Appareil à cette fin à l’extérieur de votre territoire de résidence. Vous êtes entièrement responsable de l’ensemble de ces frais. Si vous n’êtes pas la personne responsable de payer le service pour votre Appareil, nous supposons alors que vous avez eu l’autorisation de la personne responsable avant d’engager ces frais. Nous n’exigeons pas d’autres frais pour accéder à l’Appli, mais des frais pourraient vous être facturés pour l’utilisation de Services offerts par l’entremise de l’Appli. WUC indiquera clairement si elle exige des frais supplémentaires avant de vous les facturer. L’Appli fonctionne uniquement sur les Appareils et systèmes d’exploitation compatibles et certaines fonctionnalités peuvent uniquement fonctionner si votre Appareil est connecté à Internet. Certaines fonctionnalités pourraient également n’être offertes qu’avec certains systèmes d’exploitation.

  1. Utilisation de témoins

Vous convenez que nous avons le droit de surveiller et d’examiner votre utilisation de l’Appli et des Services, de temps à autre, et d’utiliser des témoins, des fichiers journaux et vos données de navigation, conformément à la Politique de confidentialité.

  1. Soutien technique

Nous pouvons, à notre entière discrétion, vous offrir une assistance pour résoudre les problèmes liés à votre utilisation de l’Appli et des Services, mais nous n’avons aucune obligation de le faire.

  1. L’Appli et les Services sont fournis « en l’état » et « selon la disponibilité »

Vous comprenez et acceptez que l’Appli, son contenu et les Services sont fournis « en l’état » et « selon la disponibilité » et que, sauf dans la mesure expressément prévue par la loi applicable, nous déclinons expressément toute représentation, garantie ou condition de quelque sorte ou nature que ce soit, qu’elles soient expresses ou implicites, ou découlant de la loi ou d’un cadre juridique autre, les pratiques habituelles ou les usages du commerce, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, toutes les garanties ou conditions implicites, toutes les garanties ou conditions de qualité marchande, de titre ou de non-contrefaçon de droit de tiers, et toutes les garanties ou conditions d’adaptabilité dans un but particulier.

  1. Liens

Nous pouvons fournir par l’entremise de l’Appli des liens vers d’autres ressources web, y compris des sites exploités par des tiers. Ces liens sont fournis pour votre commodité et nous ne sommes pas responsables de la disponibilité de ces sites ou ressources. Nous rejetons toute responsabilité quant au contenu de tels sites ou ressources externes. Lorsque vous visitez et consultez un site de tiers, vous le faites à vos propres risques.

  1. Limitation de responsabilité

Sauf dans la mesure où cela est interdit par la loi applicable, WUC et ses sociétés affiliées, et tous leurs dirigeants, représentants, employés, consultants et agents respectifs ne seront pas tenus responsables des dommages directs, indirects, accessoires, spéciaux ou consécutifs, ni de toute perte résultant de l’utilisation ou de l’incapacité d’utiliser l’Appli ou les Services, ni de toute perte ou transmission de données ou de renseignements confidentiels ou sensibles.

  1. Indemnité

Vous acceptez de défendre, d’indemniser et de dégager WUC et ses sociétés affiliées de toute responsabilité découlant de toute réclamation, mesure, demande, perte, obligation ou de tout dommage, coût et dépense résultant de votre violation des présentes Conditions d’utilisation.

  1. Territoire de compétence

Tout différend découlant des présentes est régi exclusivement par les lois de la province de l’Ontario et les lois du Canada qui s’y appliquent, sans égard aux principes de conflits de lois; il est entendu, toutefois, que dans le cas où votre domicile ou votre lieu de résidence se trouve au Québec au moment où toute transaction est effectuée avec l’Appli, les lois du Québec s’appliquent.